Wednesday, September 19, 2012

Government Technology and Center for Digital Government Announcing
Winners of Top 25 Doers, Dreamers & Drivers of 2012

SACRAMENTO, Calif. – March 1, 2012 – Government Technology magazine and the Center for Digital
Government announced today the “Top 25 Doers, Dreamers and Drivers” of 2012.

Saving $14 Million dollars for students, scholarships and faculty with open source
software, spearheading a citywide broadband project that delivers ultra-fast Internet connections,
creating a real-time crime center and facial recognition technology for the nation’s largest police force
and leading a multi-state cloud computing initiative are just some of the reasons why Government
Technology chose this year’s Top 25 winners.

These visionaries are being recognized in the March issue of Government Technology and on for setting the standard on how technology is used to improve government performance
and strengthen citizen services.

Government Technology has awarded this honor to nearly 300 individuals over the last 10 years. See
how these winners are chosen, the past winners and video profiles on

Government Technology’s
Top 25 Doers, Dreamers and Drivers of 2012:

Chicago’s Digital Trio
• Brett Goldstein, Chief Data Officer, Chicago, Ill.
• Kevin Hauswirth, Social Media Director, Chicago, Ill.
• John Tolva, CTO, Chicago, Ill.

Dick Clark, CIO, Montana
Debbie Conway, Recorder, Clark County, Nev.
Larry Godwin, Deputy Commissioner, Tennessee Dept. of Safety and Homeland Security
Dale Jablonsky, Asst. Executive Officer Information Technology Services Branch, CalPERS
Brian Kelley, CIO, Portage County, OH
Bill Lindner, Director, Center for Academic & Professional Development, Florida State Univ.
Ron Littlefield, Mayor, Chattanooga, Tenn.

Milwaukee’s Dynamic Duo
• Nancy Olson, CIO, Milwaukee, Wis.
• Laurie Panella, Interim CIO, Milwaukee County, Wis.
Christopher Mitchell, Director, Institute for Local Self-Reliance’s Telecommunications as Commons
Steve Nichols, CTO, State of Georgia
John Nixon, Director, Michigan Department of Technology, Management and Budget
Jim Onalfo,
CIO, New York City Police Department
Jennifer Pahlka, Founder and Executive Director, Code for America
Steve Reneker, CIO, Riverside, Calif.
Michael Riedyk, Founder, YouTown
Kyle Schafer, CTO, West Virginia
Bryan Sivak, Chief Innovation Officer, Maryland
Mark Sloan, Emergency Management Coordinator, Harris County, Texas
Office of Homeland Security and Emergency Management
Stanley Stewart, Deputy Chief of Staff for Eligibility Integration, Texas Health and Human Services
Greg Wass, CIO, Cook County, Ill.
Flint Waters, CIO, Wyoming
Brad Wheeler, CIO and Vice President of IT, Indiana University


Code for America Fellows,
San Francisco, Calif.
CrisisCommons, Washington, DC


The Center for Digital Government
is a national research and advisory institute on information
technology policies and best practices in state and local government.

Government Technology is about solving problems in state and local government through the smart
use of technology. Drawing on the experiences from across the country, Government Technology
features best practices, and fosters communities of interest around improving service delivery and
transforming government operations.

Government Technology and the Center for Digital Government are divisions of e.Republic, a national
publishing, event and research company focused on smart media for public sector innovation.
Patty Cota
Director of Corporate Communications